February 18, 2019





Lapka Nuri and Estebancio Castro Focal Points, International Indigenous Peoples Forum on Climate Change Via emails to: <u>nuri@aippnet.org</u> and <u>castroestebancio@gmail.com</u>

RE: North America regional representative and alternate to the LCIPP Facilitative Working Group

Esteemed IIPFCC Focal Points,

It is our pleasure to inform you that the North America region of the IIPFCC has finalized the selection of our representatives to the Local Communities and Indigenous People's Platform Facilitative Working Group. An Indigenous Peoples Selection Committee was organized for this process representing Indigenous Peoples' Nations, governments, organizations and networks from North America that have consistently participated in the UNFCCC process, and in particular, the establishment of the Local Communities and Indigenous Peoples Platform.

As our main representative we have selected by consensus Andrea Carmen, Yaqui Nation, Executive Director of the International Indian Treaty Council. Andrea underwent a thorough application and vetting process and received our unanimous endorsement. She also received several letters of support from her own and other Nations and organizations in our region, indicating broad support. As an Indigenous expert who has been engaged in this process, and numerous other international treaty body processes for many years, we know that she will bring the expertise, integrity, commitment, and wisdom necessary to ensure effective guidance and implementation of the activities of the Facilitative Working Group related to the three functions of the Paris Decision, Operative Paragraph 135.

As her alternate, we have selected Grand Chief Wilton Littlechild, Ermineskin Cree Nation from Treaty 6 Territory in Western Canada, and International Chief for Treaties 6, 7, and 8. Grand Chief Littlechild rose to the top of the applicants for alternate due to his extensive experience in the UNFCCC as well as various UN Human Rights processes and his ability to speak to the needs of traditional knowledge keepers.

We are very proud of the inclusive and transparent process that brought together our diverse Nations and organizations from two large countries with many hundreds of Indigenous Peoples, to come to consensus in the selection of these representatives. We have utmost confidence in the capacity and expertise of Ms. Andrea Carmen and Grand Chief Wilton Littlechild to carry-out their responsibilities as representatives of the North America region to the Facilitative Working Group with the upmost integrity and professionalism.

Sincerely,

The North America Selection Committee:

Janene Yazzie, Indigenous Peoples Major Group











Regional Chief Kluane Adamek and Graeme Reed (alt), Assembly of First Nations Kenneth Deer, Haudenosaunee External relations Committee Rochelle Diver, International Indian Treaty Council Frank Ettawageshik, National Congress of American Indians and Native American Rights Fund Tom Goldtooth and Alberto Saldamando (alt), Indigenous Environmental Network Eriel Deranger, Indigenous Climate Action Bill Erasmus and Francois Paulette (alt), Dene Nation